As soon as the sale of an event starts, the queue is refreshed. Only when the sale starts does the final queue begin. Everyone who is currently in the temporary queue will be assigned a place.
If you log in for sales and place in the temporary queue, that does not mean that you are certain of a place in the front of the final queue. The waiting time displayed when the sale is started indicates how long it takes before the link is sent to the page where tickets can actually be purchased. You see a circle in the picture that has to move (it is slowly filling up).
A fault can always occur. Keep an eye on the fact that you see the (temporary) queue 'walk'. In that case you will no longer see the circle 'full' and the page must be refreshed. You do this by pressing F5 or by 'refresh' / 'refresh' in your browser.